Our Ability to Change

Over the course of the past week or so I’ve been having conversations with people from my past who have come back into my life and have shown remarkable evidence of changes they have made in their lives. 

I’m not talking about a transgender transition but other kinds of changes. Changes in their beliefs and loss of bigotry and intolerance, total changes in personality.
 A few of those people talked about spiritual experiences while others spoke of their ignorance and lack of education on certain topics. Seeing these people again and their new found peace and acceptance got me thinking about our ability to change and how some of us can be so suspicious of it when people do change.

I find it rather comical and sad to watch the people in a community whose lives revolve around a transition and strive for acceptance be marred by suspicions of other people’s ability to change.

I know that over the past year I have consciously made some changes in my life and although I feel there are more I need to make, I am feeling pretty good about myself for a change.
Aren’t we all just a work in progress?

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Our Ability to Change”

  1. jadzia9 Says:

    What an interesting topic. As I was sitting at a table for a GLBT charity fundraiser at the convention center, we all noticed that directly next to us was a gun show that featured tables with all sorts of controversial banners and statements. One table even had a Nazi flag next to the Japan flag symbolizing their belief in the old Axis power.
    I realized that I used to closely associate with many of the people at the gun show in years past. While I have always hated sick fascist ideology, I know my beliefs were certainly no where in the middle. I paused to think about these two paradigms clashing in the same building, and it made me realize just how much I’ve changed as well…for the better, I hope.

Leave a Reply

